Diversity Awards

About the Diversity Awards

The State Bar of California Diversity Awards were established by the Board of Trustees to recognize outstanding efforts made by a bar association, law firm, organization or attorney to promote diversity in the legal profession, in their organization or among their peers. The awards are given each year at a reception held during the State Bar's Annual Meeting in September/October.

Nomination process

Each year the State Bar solicits nominations from across California. All submissions are reviewed by the State Bar's Council on Access & Fairness, which provides recommendations to the Board of Trustees.

The nomination period for the 2016 awards is closed. Contact Patricia Lee at 415-538-2240 for more information.

Past Diversity Award Recipients

Year Recipients
2015 Deborah Broyles, Individual
Sidley Austin LLP, Law Firm
Sacramento County Bar Association, Diversity Hiring & Retention Committee, Bar Association
2014 Judge Judy Johnson, Individual
Munger Tolles and Olson, LLP, Law Firm
San Diego La Raza Association, San Diego, Bar Association
California Minority Counsel Program (CMCP), Organization
Judicial Intern Opportunity Program (JIOP), Organization
2013 Judge Brenda Harbin-Forte, Alameda County, Individual
Keker & Van Nest, San Francisco, Law Firm
San Mateo County Bar Association, Redwood City, Bar Association
Southwestern Law School, Los Angeles, Law School
2012 Charlene Usher, Chino, Individual
Sedgwick LLP, San Francisco, Law Firm
Bay Area Lawyers for Individual Freedom (BALIF), Bar Association
2011 Hon. Vallera Johnson, Individual
Hanson Bridgett LLP, San Francisco, Law Firm
For People of Color Inc., Los Angeles, Law Firm
Asian American Pacific Bar Association of Silicon Valley, Bar Association
2010 Mia Frances Yamamoto, Individual
Alameda County Bar Association, Bar Association
Farella Braun + Martel LLP, Law Firm
2009 Ann I. Park, Individual
Asian American Bar Association of the Greater Bay Area, Bar Association
Law Office, Southern California Edison, Law Firm
2008 Mary B. Cranston, Individual
Michael P. Judge, Individual
The Bar Association of San Francisco, Bar Association
Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal LLP, Law Firm
(download brochure)
2007 Sam Overton, Individual
Santa Clara County Bar Association, Bar Association
(download brochure)
2006 Alfred Jenkins, Individual
Bill Lann Lee, Individual
California Association of Black Lawyers, Bar Association
(download brochure)
2005 Guy Rounsaville, Jr., Individual
Southern California Chinese Lawyers Bar Association, Bar Association
(download brochure)
2004 Hon. Robert Takasugi, Individual
Lesbian & Gay Lawyers Association of Los Angeles, Bar Association
(download brochure)
2003 Angela Bradstreet, Individual
For co-sponsoring the Bay Area Minority Summer Clerkship Program:
Alameda County Bar Association
Bar Association of San Francisco
Contra Costa County Bar Association
Santa Clara County Bar Association

download brochure
2002 Eve Hill, Individual
California Minority Counsel Program, Bar Association (Joint Recipients)
California Women Lawyers, Bar Association (Joint Recipients)
"First diversity awards honor...", California Bar Journal (November 2002)