LEGISLATURE SETS STATE BAR ANNUAL DUES AT $410 FOR ACTIVE MEMBERS
San Francisco, Sept. 17, 2012 – Gov. Jerry Brown signed legislation today setting the State Bar annual dues at $410 for active members in 2013.
At the State Bar’s request, the dues rate for active members has remained steady for the last five years, with the exception of a one-time $10 rebate in 2012.
The bill, AB 2685, also fixed the annual fee for inactive members at $125. Attorneys will receive fee statements in early December with a due date of Feb. 1, 2013.
The State Bar of California is an administrative arm of the California Supreme Court, serving the public and seeking to improve the justice system for more than 80 years. All lawyers practicing law in California must be members of the State Bar. By September 2012, membership reached 238,000.