CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION TO BE DISCUSSED AT PUBLIC MEETINGS
San Francisco, April 12, 2013 – The State Bar of California has scheduled public meetings to evaluate the rules governing Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) for attorneys. Lawyers are generally required to complete a total of 25 hours of approved credit every three years.
The meetings, called by the Member Oversight Committee of the State Bar Board of Trustees, will take place at the State Bar’s offices on April 18 at 1149 S. Hill St. in Los Angeles and May 8 at 180 Howard St. in San Francisco. The information gathered may ultimately be used to develop a proposal that would be submitted to the board.
The hearings will be broken up into four sessions over two days. There will be an opportunity for public comment during each session. The dates and topics to be covered are:
- April 18, 2013 Los Angeles
Mission of MCLE, 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
MCLE requirements, 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.
- May 8, 2013 San Francisco
MCLE providers, 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Modes of MCLE delivery, 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.
The State Bar of California is an administrative arm of the California Supreme Court, serving the public and seeking to improve the justice system for more than 80 years. All lawyers practicing law in California must be members of the State Bar. By April 2013, membership reached 242,000.