Ethics and Client Trust Account Schools
In an effort to provide assistance in avoiding common ethical and client trust accounting mistakes, the Ethics and Client Trust Account Schools are available to all California attorneys.
Attorneys who have not been disciplined by the State Bar but seek information to aid their law practice are eligible to attend. Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) credit is available.
Attorneys who have been disciplined are required to attend the daylong course in ethics covering the Rules of Professional Conduct and selected provisions of the State Bar Act.
Ethics School identifies issues and solutions to common ethical situations faced by practitioners. Instructors are experienced prosecutors who interact with attorneys in the class, discussing such topics as:
- the attorney-client relationship,
- fees and fee agreements,
- the scope of employment,
- performing competently; and
- duties to clients during and upon ending the attorney-client relationship.
Client Trust Account School is required of attorneys who are disciplined for client trust account violations. A separate three-hour course, it focuses specifically on managing client trust accounts and related duties.
Ethics/CTA School Registration Information
Ethics and Client Trust Accounting Classes are given throughout the year in the State Bar's Los Angeles and San Francisco offices.
Los Angeles: 1149 S. Hill St., 4th Floor
San Francisco: 180 Howard St.
Ethics and Client Trust Accounting Classes are given throughout the year in the Los Angeles and San Francisco offices. Ethics School is an all-day program (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.) with a lunch break. The fee for the course is $150.. Six (6) hours of MCLE credit are available where the State Bar matter is concluded an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline. Credit is also available if the member has voluntarily agreed to attend the class with regard to a complaint.
Client Trust Account School is held for three (3) hours (9 a.m. to 12 p.m.). The fee for the course is $100. Three (3) hours of MCLE credit are available where the State Bar matter was concluded by an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline. Credit is also available if the member has voluntarily agreed to attend the class with regard to a complaint.
Fees must be submitted with the print out of the application in order to secure a seat in the class. Classes for some dates may fill up quickly. Payment for classes must be in the form of a personal check, money order or cashier’s check. Cash payments will not be accepted.
Please indicate on the electronic application form by clicking on the appropriate button to indicate whether you are attending the class as a result of a decision of the court after a hearing, as a result of a Stipulation, pursuant to an Agreement in Lieu of Discipline, or voluntarily by letter agreement with a Deputy Trial Counsel or the Committee of Bar Examiners for Bar applicants.
If you have a question about probation, please direct your inquiries in writing to the Office of Probation, State Bar of California, 1149 S. Hill St., Los Angeles, CA 90015-2299.