New online billing system for 2017
The State Bar has launched a new online billing and payment application for 2017 fees. Paper billing statements will not be sent to attorneys. Instead, statements will be available online through My State Bar Profile.
Fee payments are due March 1, 2017.
Individual attorneys will continue to be able to make payments online through My State Bar Profile. Attorneys should make sure that the email they have provided for communications from the State Bar is up to date.
Law firms and agencies will be able to use the State Bar’s new agency billing system where they can calculate billing costs and make payments for a group of attorneys.
Once an attorney’s fees are paid, a paper bar card will be conveniently available for download through My State Bar Profile. Plastic bar cards will still be made available, but only upon request and can also be ordered through My State Bar Profile.
The online billing system makes it easier than ever for individual attorneys and agencies to help make the justice system available to everyone. When paying your bill, please consider making a contribution in support of legal services for low income Californians. Your support is a lifeline that can help prevent homelessness, keep kids in school, protect elders from fraud and abuse and connect veterans to services, among other critical legal assistance.
It is anticipated that the online agency and billing application will be available through the State Bar’s website by mid-December.
Go to www.calbar.ca.gov for more information, or contact Member Records and Compliance at 888-800-3400.
Use CalBar Connect to access discounts and exclusive programs, including several group insurance programs designed to serve the needs of attorneys.
This confidential research service (for attorneys only) can help you identify and analyze your professional responsibilities.You can reach the hotline staff from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays by calling 800-238-4427 (or 415-538-2150 from outside California).
Lawyer Assistance Program (LAP)
Are you struggling with a substance abuse problem, mental health issue or career crisis? The LAP can help.
For more information, call the toll-free confidential hotline at 877-LAP4HELP (213-765-1190 outside California) or send an e-mail to: LAP@calbar.ca.gov.
The State Bar offers California lawyers the opportunity to become certified in 11 areas of law practice, from appellate law to family law to workers' compensation law.
Trust Accounting Handbook
To assist attorneys in complying with the rules for maintaining client trust accounts, the State Bar publishes the Handbook on Client Trust Accounting for California Attorneys. Download the text for free.
Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE), Deadlines
MCLE compliance declarations should be submitted online through My State Bar Profile. The online reporting screens become available starting approximately 60 days before your reporting deadline.
Attorneys in MCLE Compliance Group 3 (last names N-Z), will be able to report compliance starting in mid-December and must report by March 1, 2017 to avoid a $75 late fee.
Note: Even those Group 3 attorneys who are “exempt” by virtue of their employment (see MCLE Rule 2.54), must attest to their exemption by March 1, 2017, or they will be assessed a late fee.
Order copies of the State Bar's consumer guides and pamphlets --- and distribute them to clients or a community group or a local high school class. Some are free of charge; others are available for a small fee that helps cover the costs of the bar's public education program. Many are available in foreign languages as well.
The State Bar's three consumer guides are:
The bar also produces a Get the Legal Facts of Life pamphlet series. Each pamphlet deals with a law-related issue.
For a pamphlet order form, visit calbar.ca.gov (go to Consumer Pamphlets) or send an e-mail to email@example.com.
To order the guides, fill out an online order form on the State Bar's website.
If you do not have access to the Internet, call 888-875-LAWS (5297) for information.
State Bar fees are due March 1, 2017. Avoid paying a penalty. Pay your fees on time. Your payment must be paid online (see below) or postmarked by March 1, 2017. If you miss the deadline, a penalty will attach on March 2 ($100 for active lawyers, $30 for inactive lawyers). If you have questions, call the Member Services Center at 888-800-3400.
Pay your fees online. Simply go to Member Services on the State Bar’s website (calbar.ca.gov) and set up your individual My State Bar Profile. Returning users should log in using their personal password. If you are a first-time user, you will need an access code. Call the Member Services Center at 888-800-3400 with any questions.
You are only eligible to pay at the inactive rate if you transfer to voluntary inactive status by March 1, 2017. Applications for Transfer to Inactive Membership Status must be received and effective no later than Feb. 1 to be eligible for the inactive membership fee rate for that year. A change to inactive status after March 1 is permissible, however the member must pay annual fees at the active rate and is not entitled to a refund because of the change to inactive status.
Report any change in your address. If you have a new address, log on to My State Bar Profile to update your contact information. Note: California Rule of Court 9.7 makes it a requirement to use My State Bar Profile as the means to report changes to your contact information, as well as to provide and maintain an email address for State Bar communications. If you have not already done so, please register today to ensure your compliance.
If your trust account information has changed in the past year, you may need to notify the State Bar. This requirement only applies to active members living in California. To update or change your trust account information, log on to My State Bar Profile.