
The State Bar of California 
 MEMBERSHIP RULES 

 
TITLE TWO. RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF MEMBERS 
(Effective August 18, 2006) 
 
Division 1. Member record 
 
Rule 2.1  Roll of attorneys 
 

The State Bar maintains, on the official membership records of the State Bar, the roll 
of all attorneys admitted to practice in California.1
 

Rule 2.2  Public information 
 

A member record contains public information, including the following: 
 

(A) last name, first name, and any middle names; 
(B) State Bar member number; 
(C) date and place of birth; 
(D) address and telephone number; 
(E) e-mail address; 
(F) date of admission in California; 
(G) places and dates of admission in other jurisdictions before admission in 

California; 
(H) membership status; 
(I) date of any transfer from one membership status to another; 
(J) date and period of any discipline; and 
(K) any other information as directed by the Supreme Court or otherwise 

required by law. 
 
Rule 2.3  Duty to update member record 

 
(A) A member must inform the State Bar of a change of address, telephone 

number, or e-mail address no later than 30 days after making the change. 
The member must report a change of address or telephone number online 
or using the State Bar Address Change Form.2 The member must make a 
change of e-mail address online. 

 
(B) A member must inform the State Bar of a change of name no later than 30 

days after making the change. The member must report the change using 
the State Bar Name Change Form.3 

 

                                                 
1 California Rule of Court, Rule 950.5, states that “The State Bar shall maintain, as part of the official 
membership records of the State Bar, the Roll of Attorneys of all persons admitted to practice in this State. 
Such records shall include the information specified in sections 6002.1 and 6064 of the Business and 
Professions Code and other information as directed by the Court.” 
2 See http://calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_sections_generic.jsp?cid=12535&id=1017.  
3 See http://calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_sections_generic.jsp?cid=12535&id=1025.  
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Division 2. Annual membership fees and penalties 
 
Rule 2.10  Definitions 
 

(A) “Annual membership fees” are those fees that any member must pay to 
maintain active or inactive membership in a calendar year. These fees may 
include additional assessments and costs prescribed by law.4

 
(B) “Penalties” are the surcharges assessed any member who fails to pay 

annual membership fees on time. 
 

Rule 2.11  Due date 
A member must pay the annual membership fees set forth in the Schedule of 
Charges and Deadlines each calendar year no later than February 1.  

 
Rule 2.12  New members 
 

A new member must be enrolled as active and pay initial fees within 30 days of the 
invoice date for the fees as follows: 
 

(A) full annual membership fees if admitted between January 1 and May 31; 
 
(B) half the annual membership fees if admitted between June 1 and 

November 30; 
 
(C) the administrative fee for admission set forth in the Schedule of Charges 

and Deadlines if admitted in December. 
 

Rule 2.13 Late payment penalties 
 

Late payment of annual membership fees is subject to the penalties set forth in the 
Schedule of Charges and Deadlines. 
 

Rule 2.14  No refund 
 

Unless these rules provide otherwise, a member is not entitled to a refund of annual 
membership fees because of death, resignation, disbarment, transfer to inactive 
status, entering judicial office, or for any other reason. 

 
Rule 2.15  Scaling 
 

(A) An active member who has a total gross annual individual income from all 
sources of less than $40,000 may request to scale or reduce annual 
membership fees by 25%. The request must be submitted by the date set 
forth in the Schedule of Charges and Deadlines and include 

 
(1) the Active Member Fee Scaling Declaration,5 a declaration under 

penalty of perjury; and 

                                                 
4 See Business & Professions Code §§ 6140.5, 6140.7. 
5 See http://calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_sections_generic.jsp?cid=12535&id=1027). 
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(2) payment of the reduced fee. 

 
New members admitted after May 31 do not qualify for scaling but must pay 
half the annual membership fees. 
 

(B) An employer that receives State Bar Legal Services Trust Fund grants and 
is a qualified legal services project or qualified support center as defined by 
statute6 may scale or reduce annual membership fees by 25% for an active 
member employed on a continuous full-time basis. The request must be 
submitted by the date set forth in the Schedule of Charges and of 
Deadlines and include 

 
(1) the Qualified Employer Fee Scaling Declaration, a declaration 

under penalty of perjury that the employer is qualified and pays 
annual membership fees on the member’s behalf; and 

 
(2) payment of the reduced fee. 

 
(C) Members who scale are subject to audit and upon request must provide the 

State Bar with past federal and state income tax returns or other acceptable 
documentation of financial condition. 

 
(D) If the State Bar determines that a member is ineligible to scale, the member 

must pay full annual membership fees and any late payment penalties. 
 
Rule 2.16  Waivers 

 
(A) In this rule, “annual membership fees” and “penalties” are construed 

narrowly and do not include  
 

(1) disciplinary costs7or monetary sanctions,8  
 

(2) Client Security Fund disbursements and costs,9  
 

(3) mandatory fee arbitration award penalties and costs,10  
 

(4) Minimum Continuing Legal Education (“MCLE”) noncompliance or 
reinstatement penalties,11 or  

 
(5) any other charges that may be added to annual membership fees 

for failure to comply with obligations imposed by court order, 
statute, or rule. 

 

                                                 
6 See Business & Professions Code § 6210 et seq. 
7 See Business and Professions Code § 6086.10. 
8 See Business and Professions Code § 6086.13. 
9 See Business and Professions Code § 6140.5. 
10 See Business and Professions Code § 6203(d)(3). 
11 See Business and Professions Code § 6070 and the State Bar’s MCLE rules. 
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(B) To be considered for the current year, a request must be submitted by 
February 1. Requests submitted after February 1 must be accompanied by 
full payment of any outstanding charges, which will be refunded if the 
request is granted. 

 
(C) The Secretary may waive up to $1,000 in annual membership fees and 

related penalties for the year in which they are due, provided that the 
request is 

 
(1) in writing; 
 
(2) supported by satisfactory documentation; and  
 
(3) for any of the following reasons: 

 
(a) the member is prevented or greatly impaired from pursuing 

a livelihood for a substantial part of the membership year 
because of a physical or mental condition, natural disaster, 
or family emergency; 

 
(b) the member has a total annual income from all sources of 

$20,000 or less; 
 
(c) the member serves full-time as a magistrate, 

commissioner, or referee, or in another similar capacity for 
a state or federal court of record; 

 
(d) the member is a retired judge who accepts assignments 

from the Chief Justice of California to act in a judicial 
capacity at least 90% of the calendar year; 

 
(e) the State Bar has erroneously assessed the annual 

membership fees or related penalties; or 
 
(f) for any other reason, on a one-time-only basis, if the 

member has no previous record of discipline or 
administrative suspension. 

 
(D) The Secretary may waive annual membership fees and related penalties for 

a member serving in the Army National Guard, the Army Reserve, the 
Naval Reserve, the Marine Corps Reserve, the Air National Guard of the 
United States, the Air Force Reserve, or the Coast Guard Reserve provided 
that 

 
(1) the member has been ordered to report to full-time active duty for 

more than 30 days; 
 
(2) a  request for waiver is submitted in writing by the member, 

member's spouse, relative, law partner or associate, or legal 
representative and accompanied by: 
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(a) a copy of the order to report for active duty, or 
 
(b) a copy of the order to report for active duty and a certified 

declaration by a JAG officer that the member has served 
on active duty for more than 30 days. 

 
A member granted a waiver under this rule must notify the State Bar 
within 30 days upon termination of the assignment to active duty. 
 

(E) Annual membership fees are waived for the year in which a judicial officer 
leaves office and returns to membership in the State Bar. 

 
(F) The Secretary may waive unpaid annual membership fees and penalties 

accrued by former justices and judges of courts of record since their leaving 
office, if such members have paid current annual membership fees and 
related penalties. This rule sunsets December 31, 2007 unless the board 
extends it. 

 
(G) Annual membership fees are waived for inactive members who are 70 

years of age on February 1. 
 

(H) Annual membership fees may be waived for a member who is an emeritus 
attorney. 

 
(I) The board reserves the right  

 
(1) to grant requests for waivers denied by the Secretary if there is 

good cause; and 
 
(2) to consider all other requests for waivers. 

 
(J) A waiver granted under this rule does not remove a court-ordered 

suspension for nonpayment of fees or penalties. 
 
Division 3. Member status 
 
Rule 2.30  Inactive membership 
 

(A)    Any member not under suspension, who does not engage in any of the 
activities listed in (B) in California, may, upon written request, be enrolled 
as an inactive member.  The Secretary may, in any case in which to do 
otherwise would work an injustice, and subject to any directions which may 
be given by the board permit retroactive enrollment of inactive members.   

 
(B)    No member practicing law, or occupying a position in the employ of or 

rendering any legal service for an active member, or occupying a position 
wherein he or she is called upon in any capacity to give legal advice or 
counsel or examine the law or pass upon the legal effect of any act, 
document or law, shall be enrolled as an inactive member.   
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(C)    Notwithstanding (A) and (B) a member serving for a court or any other 
governmental agency as a referee, hearing officer, court commissioner, 
temporary judge, arbitrator, mediator or in another similar capacity is 
eligible for enrollment as an inactive member if he or she does not 
otherwise engage in any of the activities listed in (B) or hold himself or 
herself out as being entitled to practice law.   

 
Rule 2.31  Change of membership status 
 

(A) A member may apply to change from active to inactive status or vice versa 
by submitting the Transfer to Active Status Form12 or the Transfer to 
Inactive Status Form13 with the transfer fee indicated in the Schedule of 
Charges and Deadlines. A change to inactive by February 1 entitles the 
member to pay the annual fees of an inactive member. A change to inactive 
after that date does not entitle the member to a refund of active fees.  

 
(B) While suspended, a member cannot change membership status. 

 
Rule 2.32  Inactive enrollment for failure to comply with Minimum Continuing Legal 
Education requirements 
 

(A) A member who fails to meet requirements for Minimum Continuing Legal 
Education (MCLE) will be enrolled as inactive. 

 
(B) To terminate inactive enrollment for MCLE noncompliance, a member must 

comply with the MCLE rules governing reinstatement.14 
 

(C) Annual membership fees continue to accrue at the inactive rate. 
 
Rule 2.33  Suspension for failure to pay annual membership fees and outstanding 
penalties or costs 
 

(A) A member who fails to pay annual membership fees or any outstanding 
penalties or costs will be sent a final delinquency notice at the member’s 
address of record.  If the State Bar fails to receive full payment of the 
amount due within two months of sending the final delinquency notice, the 
State Bar will recommend that the Supreme Court suspend the member 
from the practice of law.15 

 
(B) Annual membership fees continue to accrue according to the member’s 

status prior to suspension. 
 

(C) To terminate suspension for nonpayment, a member must pay 
 

(1) all current and accrued fees, penalties, and costs; and  
                                                 
12 See http://calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_sections_generic.jsp?cid=12535&id=1028). 
13 See http://calbar.ca.gov/state/calbar/calbar_sections_generic.jsp?cid=12535&id=1029). 
14 See MCLE Rules and Regulations (http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/certification/MCLE_Rules_05_03.pdf), rule 13.1: 
Enrollment As Inactive Member: “A member failing to comply with the requirements after the 60-day period for compliance 
has expired shall be enrolled as an inactive member by the Board of Governors or an officer of the State Bar or his or her 
designee.” Reinstatement is governed by MCLE Rules and Regulations § 14. 
15 Business and Professions Code § 6143. 
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(2) the reinstatement fee set forth in the Schedule of Charges and 

Deadlines. 
 

The payment must be made in cash or in guaranteed funds by cashier's 
check, money order, bank certified check, or wire transfer. 
 

(D) The State Bar will seek by an amendment nunc pro tunc to retroactively 
strike the name of a member from the Supreme Court Order of Suspension 
for Nonpayment if the suspension resulted from State Bar error. 

 
Rule 2.34  Suspension for failure to comply with a family or child support obligation 
 

(A) A member identified under the terms of Family Code § 17520 as failing to 
comply with a judgment or court order for child or family support will be 
suspended from the practice of law by the Supreme Court.16 

 
(B) The State Bar will send a written notice of suspension for failure to pay child 

or family support to the member’s address of record. The suspension will 
be effective on the date ordered by the Supreme Court. 

 
(C) The State Bar will ask the Supreme Court to reinstate a member if it 

receives statutory notice17 that the obligation has been discharged and if 
the member has paid annual membership fees and any surcharge 
authorized by statute.18 

 
(D) If a reinstated member subsequently fails to comply with a judgment or 

court order for child or family support,19 the State Bar will request that the 
Supreme Court suspend the member within 30 days and will send written 
notice of its request to the member’s address of record. 

 
(E) Annual membership fees continue to accrue according to the member’s 

status prior to suspension. 
 
Rule 2.35  Suspension for disciplinary violations 
 

(A) A member who is suspended by the California Supreme Court as a result of 
disciplinary violations must pay full annual membership fees. 

 
 (B) Annual membership fees continue to accrue according to the member’s 

status prior to suspension. 
 
 (C)  If a member is suspended for an entire calendar year, the member is not 

required to pay annual membership fees for that year.  Upon expiration of 
the suspension, and within 30 days of the invoice, the member must pay full 
annual membership fees for the current year.  

                                                 
16 California Rules of Court, Rule 962. 
17 Family Code § 17520. 
18 Family Code § 17520 (n). 
19 Family Code § 17520. 
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The State Bar of California 
EMERITUS ATTORNEY RULES 

(Effective August 18, 2006) 
 

A. The Secretary or designee shall waive, as provided in this section, the payment 
of the annual membership fees for any member acting exclusively as an emeritus 
attorney.  

 
B. Definitions  

 
(1)  An “emeritus attorney” is an active member of the State Bar of 

California, who other than to provide free civil legal services in 
association with a qualified legal services provider or a lawyer referral 
service would be retired from and not engaged in the practice of law, 
and otherwise would be an inactive member; and 

 
(a)  Has been engaged in the practice of law, has served as a 

judge, or has engaged in any combination of practice of law 
and service as a judge in California for a minimum of three out 
of the eight years immediately preceding the application to 
participate in the emeritus program, and was admitted to 
practice law in a jurisdiction in the United States at least ten 
years prior to filing his or her application for the emeritus 
program; and   

 
(b)  Has been a member in good standing of the State Bar of 

California and has no record of public discipline for 
professional misconduct imposed at any time within the past 
15 years by the California Supreme Court, the State Bar or 
any other jurisdiction in which the member is admitted and did 
not resign or retire from the practice of law with disciplinary 
charges pending; and 

 
(c)  Neither asks for nor receives compensation of any kind for the 

legal services to be rendered hereunder.  
 

(2)  A “qualified legal services provider” for the purposes of this rule is a 
not-for-profit legal services organization which is receiving or is 
eligible to receive funds from the Legal Services Trust Fund Program 
as either a “qualified legal services project” as defined in Business 
and Professions Code sections 6214 and 6214.5 or a “qualified 
support center” as defined in Business and Professions Code section 
6215. 

 
(3)  A “lawyer referral service” for the purposes of this rule is a lawyer 

referral service certified by the State Bar of California under Business 
and Professions Code section 6155.  An emeritus attorney’s 
participation must be limited to the no-fee panel or pro bono clinic of 
the service, not the reduced fee panel or modest means program of 
the service.  
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C. Limitations 
  

(1)  Except for the acts and services performed in association with a 
qualified legal services provider or a certified lawyer referral service, 
an emeritus attorney shall not otherwise engage in the practice of law, 
without payment of active membership fees.  

 
(2)  The prohibition against compensation for the emeritus attorney 

contained in subdivision B(1)(c), above, shall not prevent the qualified 
legal services provider or certified lawyer referral service from 
reimbursing the emeritus attorney for actual expenses incurred while 
rendering services hereunder.  The qualified legal services provider or 
certified lawyer referral service shall be entitled to receive all court-
awarded attorneys’ fees for any representation rendered by the 
emeritus attorney.  

 
D. Waiver of Active Fees  

 
The Secretary or designee shall waive the annual membership fees upon: 

 
(1)  The filing of a statement by a qualified legal services provider or 

certified lawyer referral service stating the name of the member 
applying for emeritus attorney in association with that provider or 
services, certifying that the emeritus attorney will not be paid any 
compensation, and agreeing to notify the State Bar within ten days 
when the association of the emeritus attorney has ceased.  

 
(2)  The filing of a sworn statement by the applicant for emeritus attorney 

that he or she:  
 

(a)  Has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs B(1) (a) and (b) of 
this section;  

 
(b)  Has read and is familiar with the Rules of Professional 

Conduct and provisions of the State Bar Act (Bus & Prof. 
Code, §6000 et seq.) relating to the professional duties and 
obligations of an attorney at law and abide by the provisions 
thereof; 

 
(c)  Will neither ask for nor receive compensation of any kind for 

the legal services authorized hereunder: 
 

(d)  Has not engaged in the practice of law in the current calendar 
year and does not intend to practice law except in association 
with the legal services provider and as provider in this section; 

 
(e)  If the applicant is currently an inactive member, requests that 

he or she be enrolled as an active member and that the annual 
active membership fee be waived as provided in this section.  
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(3)  Certification by the State Bar that the applicant has been engaged in 
the practice of law, has served as a judge or has engage in any 
combination of practice of law and service as a judge in California for 
a minimum of three out of the last eight years, has been a member in 
good standing of the State Bar of California with no record of public 
discipline for professional misconduct imposed at any time within the 
past ten years by the California Supreme Court, the State Bar, or any 
other jurisdiction in which the member is admitted, and did not resign 
or retire from the practice of law with disciplinary charges pending.  

 
E. Withdrawal of Waiver  

 
(1)  Waiver of active membership fees pursuant to this rule shall be 

withdrawn upon termination of the association of the emeritus attorney 
with the qualified legal services provider or certified lawyer referral 
service, or for any good cause.  

 
(2)  Upon withdrawal of waiver, the annual active membership fee for the 

current year shall become due and payable.  If the waiver is 
withdrawn on or before June 30th of any year, active membership fee 
shall be the full active membership fee for the current calendar year.  
If the waiver is withdrawn subsequent to June 30, the active 
membership fee for the current year shall be one-half the full active 
membership fee for the current calendar year, less any inactive 
membership fee paid by him or her as an inactive member for such 
year.  If the emeritus attorney upon withdrawal of the waiver does not 
intend to practice law, he or she may be enrolled as an inactive 
member upon written request and payment of the inactive fees.  

 
F. Waiver of Eligibility Criteria for Emeritus Attorney Applicants  

 
In the event an applicant fails to fully comply with each and every one of the 
requirements in these Rules, but in the opinion of the Secretary of designee, waiver 
would be in the best interest of the Emeritus Attorney Pro Bono Participation 
Program, the Secretary or designee may waive eligibility criteria.  The following 
factors would be relevant when considering a waiver of any of the eligibility criteria: 
nearness to full compliance with the eligibility criteria; the need for legal services in 
the geographic area; the availability of pro bono lawyers in the geographic area; 
whether the emeritus attorney applicant has previously provided pro bono legal 
services through a qualified legal services 
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Schedule of Charges and Deadlines for 2007 
 

Adopted by the Board of Governors 
August 19, 2006 

 
Note: Charges are base amounts that may be increased as specified by rule or 
otherwise authorized by law. 
 
 
Rule Description Amount 2007 

deadline 
Annual membership fees for active membership $400.00 February 1 2.11 
Annual membership fees for inactive membership $125.00 February 1 
(A) Admission between January 1 and May 31 $400.00 45 days from 

invoice date 
(B) Admission between June 1 and November 30 $200.00 45 days from 

invoice date 

2.12 

(C) Administrative fee for admission in December None N/A 
Penalties for late payment of annual fees received 
at the State Bar or USPS-postmarked after 
February 1, 2007. 

  

(A) Active Members $100.00 February 1 

2.13 

(B) Inactive Members $30.00 February 1 
 (C) Admittees before May 31 $100.00 46 days from 

invoice date  
 (D) Admittees after June 1 $50.00 46 days from 

invoice date 
(A) Scaling deadline for qualified active members 
(25 % reduction active membership fees of $400) 

$300.00 February 1 2.15 

(B) Scaling deadline for qualified employers (25 % 
reduction active membership fees of $400) 

$300.00 February 1 

(A) Transfer to active status $400.00 For transfer 
at any time 

2.31 

(B) Transfer to inactive status $125.00 February 1 
2.33  (C)(2) Reinstatement fee to terminate suspension 

for nonpayment 
$100.00 At time 

reinstatement 
is requested 
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